Wait

Wait.

I’m told that I have to wait.

I’m told that I have to be patient.

I’m told that one day it will pay off.

Wait.

It takes time.

It takes a long time, especially for the things I want.

It takes anywhere from seconds to years.

Wait.

Normally, I can tell myself to wait.

Normally, I can convince myself to wait.

Normally, I am not scared to wait.

Wait.

But now, I realize that waiting hurts.

But now, I know that I want to be impatient.

But now, I know that I have to wait, I can do no more.

Wait.

I’ll wait, in tears.

I’ll wait, while my heart beats painfully and my breath goes short.

I’ll wait, because there is nothing else I can do.

Wait.

In the end, I don’t know what will happen.

In the end, I don’t know if I will be hurt or happy.

In the end, I don’t know if the waiting will be worth it.

Wait.

I am so sick of waiting.

I am so sick of not knowing when I should retreat.

I am so sick of being hurt when I wait.

Wait.

They tell me that I will be rewarded.

They tell me that I will find what I am waiting for.

They tell me that I just “need to have patience”.

Wait.

I want to scream, “But it hurts!”

I want to scream, “I am so tired of patience!”

I want to scream, “I want to know if I will be hurt!”

Wait.

But all I can do is wait.

But all I can do is wait.

But all I can do is wait.

Leave a Reply

